The laboratory conducts research oriented towards the development and creation of high-performance and large-band single-photon counters based on assemblages of superconductors. These photon counters take the form of subminiature bolometers detecting superconducting phase transition which occurs during single-photon absorption (Transition Edge Sensor (TES)).

The laboratory studies non-equilibrium phenomena occurring in low dimensional electron systems under the influence of a constant electric field or microwave radiation. We are mainly focusing on searching and studying solid-state electronic systems with negative differential conductivity, as well as with absolute negative conductivity. Such systems may be created using molecular beam epitaxy, thermal evaporation, electron-beam lithography, and dry etching. From a practical point of view, such studies are essential to develop new non-linear elements with N-shaped voltage-current characteristic.

International Partners of the Laboratory: University of Regensburg (Germany), Universidad Autónoma de Madrid (Spain), University of Barcelona (Spain), Universidad de Murcia (Spain), University of Twente (The Netherlands), Weizmann Institute of Science (Israel), CEA-Grenoble (France), City College of the City University of New York (USA), University of Chicago (USA), IMEC (Belgium).

Expert in this field: Candidate of Physico-Mathematical Sciences, Tatyana Baturina,

Semiconductor Physics Section
Rzhanov Institute of Semiconductor Physics, Siberian Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences