NSU Scientist Receives International Award for Work in Light Scattering

The Elsevier / JQSRT Peter C. Waterman Award is a prestigious international award for young scientists in the field of light scattering. In addition to the commemorative diploma, the winner receives $750.

This year, the award was given to Alexander Moskalensky, Head of the Optics and Dynamics of Biological Systems Laboratory at the NSU Physics Department. The award recipient said that in addition to recognition by colleagues, the award provides motivation to continue conducting high level research.

Moskalensky provided some background information,

The award is not given for a specific achievement, but for overall scientific results. My work at the Cytometry and Biokinetics Laboratory at the Voevodsky Institute of Chemical Kinetics and Combustion SB RAS helped me to get this award. I prepared my dissertation there and they have always had a very high level of work associated with light scattering. Our solutions to light scattering problems were published in leading optics journals and this attracted the attention of the global scientific community. Now I have my own laboratory at NSU but I continue to work with Maxim Yurkin’s group at the Institute. This is primarily experimental work and we are moving forward in the field of light scattering theory.

A special committee selects the award recipient annually from candidates nominated by their colleagues. All candidates must be in the initial stage of their scientific career and work in the light scattering field. The primary criteria is proven outstanding academic success. This year, the announcement of prize winners was planned for the summer of 2020 at the “The 19th Electromagnetic and Light Scattering Conference”. However, the conference was postponed until next year so the awards were announced online.

The Elsevier / JQSRT Peter C. Waterman Award was established by the Elsevier Science Publishing House and the Journal of Quantitative Spectroscopy and Radiative Transfer. Peter C. Waterman (1928–2012) is a scientist who made a great contribution in the development of the theory for solving Maxwell's equations in the frequency domain. The method of T-matrices he developed is still used for numerical calculations of light scattering by various particles, from interstellar dust to blood cells.